Introductory Level Training Courses4-C2022-03-09T13:49:56-05:00
A yellow registration button will be listed if a course is currently being offered. If you do not see a registration link and want to find out if there are upcoming opportunities or if you would like to schedule an On-Demand training, please contact [email protected] or 608-271-9181.
Abusive Head Trauma (AHT) (formerly Shaken Baby Syndrome (SBS))
Hours: 2 Format: Virtual or In-Person Fee: $20
Description: In Wisconsin, all child care providers working with children under the age of 5 are required to take a class on Abusive Head Trauma. AHT includes Shaken Baby Syndrome, injury involving the brain, skull and/or spinal cord which can result from shaking or from inflicting trauma on the head by other means, such as throwing, intentionally dropping, striking, or other forms of impact. Abusive Head
Trauma Prevention Training for Child Care Providers addresses the latest information on:
Child Abuse and Neglect/Mandated Reporter Training
Description: This training can be taken in a variety of ways.
Contact 4-C training at [email protected] for a personalized group training for staff.
Take the free online Mandated Reporter Training from Wisconsin Child Welfare Professional
Development System. a. This training is 30 minutes and meets the requirement for the Department of Children
and Families initial and biennial Child Abuse & Neglect Reporting Training requirement. b. Access the course here: https://media.wcwpds.wisc.edu/mandatedreporter/
CPR (Infant/Child/Adult) and AED
Hours: 3 Format: In-Person Fee: $80
This CPR/AED class uses the American Red Cross curriculum and covers adult, child, and infant CPR procedures as well as AED (Automated External Defibrillator) use, barrier device usage, and relief of choking for all ages. Certification is good for two years.
Precautions are taken to prevent the spread of illness among participants. Such precautions may include and are not limited to social distancing, wearing masks as required by local, state, and federal organizations or as deemed appropriate by the agency, limited class size, and limited mannequin contact including no mouth to mannequin contact.
Description: This course provides entry level knowledge and skills for individuals as they begin or intend to care for children in group or family child care. Learners explore rules and regulations governing group and family child care and the responsibilities of child care providers. This course fulfills introductory non-credit course requirements as specified by the Department of Children and Families. This course requires that you complete an Abusive Head Trauma (formerly SBS) class and a Sudden Infant Death Syndrome class. You will need to provide a certificate of completion for these courses. Previously completed SBS and SIDS classes may count.
Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS) and Other Sleep Related Deaths
Hours: 1.5 Format: Virtual or In-Person Fee: $15
Description: The SIDS workshop meets the Department of Children and Families requirements for Certification and Licensing. At the end of the presentation the participant will be able to help reduce the risk of SIDS through consistent implementation of risk reduction strategies and increase awareness of SIDS in the community.
If you are not finding a training you are looking for or if you need assistance, please contact 4-C at [email protected] or 608-271-9181.